AANP Annual Convention 2011

The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP) is a professional organization that seeks to advance the profession of naturopathic medicine while maintaining its integrity. As a student, I feel that having a professional organization, such as the AANP, is an integral part in giving our profession a voice as a whole.

The annual American Association of Naturopathic Physicians convention showcases advances in our field, research and new therapeutics. It is a week that inspires me as a student and gives me a rare opportunity to meet and learn from some of the “shining stars” in the naturopathic community. This year, the convention theme is “Composing Effective Patient Care”. The Keynote speakers include Dr. Michael Murray, Dr. Alan Gaby, Dr. Lise Alschuler, Dr. Jared Zeff, Dr. Paul Herscu and Dr. Amy Rothenberg. To me, it sounds like an all-star line up!

Reflecting on my experience at last year’s convention I am filled with a sense of gratitude. I had the opportunity to see how this community is growing and more so, how we come together, to learn from each other and to support one another. I recall standing in a room listening to Dr. Tori Hudson speak on women’s health and being in awe that there was standing room only. I remember that Dr. Joseph Pizzorno’s keynote address was not only inspiring but that it sparked a conversation between the audience and the speaker that engaged everyone in the room. There was a sense of community that I never knew existed.

In a medical program, there is naturally a sense of community. I spend nearly 12 hours a day with many of my classmates. I was afraid that this would be lost after graduation. I can say for certain that it isn’t. In fact, I believe the sense of community grows every year with the AANP convention. As we grow into Physicians, we become part of a community that is far greater than our medical programs. I look forward all that this year has to offer.

Leave your Thoughts

