DIY Loofa Soap Slices

Kirk's and Dr. Bronner's have teamed up!

Loofas are gross. 

They hold onto post work out bacteria, they incubate in the warmth of your shower. They touch lots of places and meet lots of germs. And when was the last time you replaced your loofa? If you can’t remember, it’s been FAR too long.

For most of my life I have been a shower gel and loofa girl. I like the bubbles. I like the floral scents that fill my steamy shower. I like the feeling of my skin after lots of lather and exfoliating.

I finally made the move over to bar soap when I considered what could be living in my loofa. My transition started with a gift of Pacifica soap from a friend. After that I was hooked [who knew a bar soap could smell better than shower gel?]. 

But. I kind of miss my loofa.

The solution to this predicament comes from the one and only, Martha Stewart. I didn’t follow her recipe because ordering break and melt soap was not cost effective for me. Instead I created my project using items I found at a local grocery store and Super Supplements [so much easier].

Loofa Soap Slices!

Loofa slices have enough soap for a few uses and give you the chance to exfoliate. When the soap is gone, toss the loofa and grab a new slice for a shower thats so fresh, so clean.

Supplies:

  • Kirk’s Original Coco Castille Bar Soap, 1 bar
  • Fresh herbs (I used calendula flowers and rose petals)
  • Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castille Soap (I used Almond scented), 5 tablespoons
  • 1 tablespoon of water
  • Essential Oils (I used lavender and geranium rose)
  • Vitamin E (you only need a few drops)
  • Shea Butter, 1 tablespoon
  • A natural loofa

Tools:

  • Grater
  • Double boiler
  • Bread knife
  • Cutting board
  • Tart cups (or any clean surface to set your soap on to harden)

All set and ready to be soaped!

Instructions:

  • Cut your loofa into one inch slices using your bread knife.
  • Shred one bar of Kirk’s Natural into a metal bowl (to be used in your double boiler).
  • Add your fresh herbs, liquid castille soap, vitamin E, and shea butter. Heat until the soap starts to melts and becomes malleable, almost like play dough. I didn’t get my soap to melt  completely like Martha’s but it still worked for this project.
  • Using clean hands, form your play dough soap around your loofa slices. Be sure to fill the spaces in the loofa! A fork or spoon can help. Set the slices in your tart cups to harden.
  • Allow the soap to rest over night and they’ll be ready to use the next day! 

Time to shower!

8 responses to “DIY Loofa Soap Slices

Leave your Thoughts

