Shamrock Love

I’m back.

Maybe physically back. But my internal time clock is still in Ireland.

I’ve woken up at 3:30am two days in a row.

Although I was only gone for two weeks, it feels like it was much longer. I think I fell in love with Ireland and Europe. France was breathtaking, the Irish country side is something I will remember forever and seeing my family in London was the perfect way to end my trip.

The fantastic Jubilee Market in London

Much of my trip centered around learning new things. Learning about seaweed and herbal medicine. Learning how to travel in a foreign country. Learning about myself and how I handle the physical and emotional stress that can come from being halfway around the world. Learning about the culture and history of the Irish people. Learning how to part with my beloved cell phone (I’m only partly joking…).

An invigorating Seaweed bath - an age old Irish tradition.

You can see, I learned a lot.

I have lots to share about seaweed. And in the coming weeks, I hope to share a lot of that here. I think it will be a great way to document parts of my journey, in the hopes that I won’t ever forget my time in Ireland.

The people and the culture, the seaweed and the sand, the country side and the bustling cities have all changed me. I’m returning to this quarter in school with a renewed sense of self and an appreciation for every success I have had up to this point in my life. Sometimes I let my shortcomings overtake my self confidence, and while I was away I reflected a lot on that. We should always remember that we are enough. Just as we are.

Enjoying the ice cold Atlantic water off the coast at Rosses Point.

5 responses to “Shamrock Love

  1. I can’t wait to read about the seaweed bath! Sounds like a wonderful trip! We are headed to France for 3 weeks in August….so very excited to go back!

Leave your Thoughts

