It’s Monday…

It’s Monday.

I’m heading into Week 10 (of 11) and feeling terribly behind. I have papers to write, exams to study for, clinic shifts, preceptorship hours to complete, meetings to attend…the list goes on and on and on.

Did I mention I’m fasting until 5:30pm today?

That last bit was purely voluntary, but it certainly adds to the blah-ness that is this Monday.

[We’re experimenting with herbal medicines specifically for blood sugar control in my Bot Med 5 lab tonight. I volunteered because I have a family history of diabetes and am fasciated by plant medicine].

Oh, Monday. Are you over yet?

On a brighter note: I’m officially starting my Marathon training this evening, and that is very exciting. I’m also on the verge of starting a mostly raw food challenge. Why? Because the lovely and amazing Adrienne at Crack the Plates is so darn inspiring.

Plus I figured if I’m already fasting for the majority of today, it probably won’t be so hard to kick start this thing before I remember what my diet used to be like. [I am speculating. And I have a feeling I am entirely wrong. This challenge is going to be hard but worth it].

I have hit a plateau in my life. I am seriously tired all the time. I can hardly muster up the energy to get out of bed in the morning – let alone be the girl friend, mother, daughter and friend that I feel I should be. It doesn’t help to be a full time, third year medical student either [full disclosure: I think my schedule is insane, most days it down right sucks].

So, I’ve decided that despite the chocolate chip cookies that Matt baked for us yesterday [I should’ve allowed myself to indulge in one last night!], I will try this mostly raw, no sugar challenge.

I’ve got nothing to lose and lots to gain.

Happy Monday [is it over yet?].

5 responses to “It’s Monday…

Leave your Thoughts

