Crisp Fall Air

Love this picture, originally shared by The Green Pulse

Fall has arrived. Actually, we might have skipped right over Fall and landed in Winter.

It is COLD in Washington.

I see smoke wafting from chimney’s all over my neighborhood and I feel a little sad. Somehow the seasons changing always give me the blues, no matter how much I love pumpkin patches, corn mazes and Thanksgiving.

For a few weeks now I have been thinking about going apple picking. I think I might have missed my chance as the harvest season is almost over. I have been toying with the idea of making an apple pie, but the thought of making a pie crust from scratch is daunting. Last night, I had this conversation with a patient and she suggested I make an apple crisp, adding that it was much healthier than a pie since you’re avoiding quite a bit of flour and butter.

After my shift last night, around 9pm, I made the executive decision to make an apple crisp. It might have been the madness of my day or my upcoming midterms. Either way, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few items and by 10:15pm I had an apple crisp baking in my oven.

It was a heavenly way to end my day.

This recipe is gluten free and vegan. Yum!

Fall Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups of sliced and peeled apples. I used Organic Honeycrisp and they were perfect. Feel free to use what is available.
  • 2 tablespoons of sweetener. You can use organic brown sugar, honey or maple syrup.
  • 1/4 cup gluten free rolled oats. I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats.
  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup organic brown sugar
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground cinnamon, depending on preference
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

Instructions:

  • Preheat your oven to 375F
  • In a 9 inch pie dish, combine your sliced apples with 2 tablespoons of sweetener, coat the apples with the sweetener with a spoon or by hand
  • In a bowl, mix the oats, rice flour, 1/2 cup organic brown sugar, cinnamon and coconut oil. You’ll need to break the coconut oil up and I find it easiest to do this by hand. Once all of the ingredients are combined, add the coconut flakes
  • Cover your apples with the topping, making sure to cover evenly
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until your topping is golden brown
  • Let your apple crisp sit for 5-10 minutes prior to serving

I enjoyed my apple crisp with a scoop of Coconut Milk Vanilla Bean ice cream.

Apple Crisp + Coconut Ice Cream

3 responses to “Crisp Fall Air

    • I miss Seattle so much more than I thought I would! So unexpected lol I thought the sunshine would be everything I needed. Turns out this girl likes the cold, dreary rain too.

Leave your Thoughts

