Doctor Pre

Alumni

In less than 45 minutes, I will start my last final exam. Ever.

I can hardly believe I’ve made it this far.

In honor of my last days as a med student, I wanted to share my thoughts from my Anatomy lab First Year. We were given the incredible opportunity to learn anatomy by dissecting a Cadaver, and at the end of the year, we honored our Cadavers at a memorial service. I was able to share this with my classmates at the memorial, and today, I share it with you.

Thank you for following me on this journey.

Reflection

I look into my palms and I see a million wrinkles
Insignificant markings that disappear like tiny nerve endings
I remember that I have been given an extraordinary opportunity
Because, I have actually seen tiny nerve endings

I wiggle my fingers and feel a tingling rush
A sense of satisfaction
The kind that comes from holding the soil of the earth
And letting it fall through the spaces between each finger

At first, I struggled to steady my hands
Terrified, eager, nervous, nauseous
My hands no longer tremble
Instead I remember your contribution to my life, my studies, my practice

To be so brave, to allow my hands to touch yours
Your heart, liver, lungs, and brain
In my hands, I feel compassion, gratitude, wonder and joy
With my hands I touched my first patient

Leave your Thoughts

